veni, vidi, wow – again

It takes a while to refine any great design (and I had the design featured in this post ready well before the launch of this blog).  One of the projects I worked on at university while studying structural engineering was for an alternative stadium on the esplanade below Edinburgh Castle for The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo.  It took many weeks to perfect the design our team presented (all while continuing our regular studies) and to paraphrase a famous T-shirt logo… all I got was this lousy cardboard model.  Compared to the real time-scale to implement something as grand as that: it was a rushed job.  Good job I wasn’t given the job of putting a tram system in, eh?

What takes me a lot longer than the original origination of any design is the long time spent sitting on a design, testing it until I’m happy.  I’m never completely happy with what I’ve produced which is why the design below has been through so many changes of colour and font:

Now that I’m reasonably chuffed with the T-shirt design, it’s been sent to The Great T-shirt Shop in the Sky.   The design deliberately borrows from a remark made by Julius Caesar in 47BC, commenting on his victory over Pharnaces II of Pontus.  It was the tradition of Roman generals, particularly those with political ambitions, to make great speches and give great account of their triumph.  In phrasing the combat in such short, clipped terms in what is known poetically as ‘hendiatris‘, a senator of Caesar’s standing – especially one known for his extended written accounts of his own martial prowess as in ‘The Conquest of Gaul‘ – is essentially saying: ‘It was too easy.’  By deliberately not making a speech but having the words inscribed among the spoils of war, Caesar had more impact than if he had made a speech.

The poetic technique employed by Caesar is still used by politicians and advertising companies today.  Quite simply, it works.  (See what I did there?)

If you want to see what else I did, you can now wear a T-shirt that reads: ‘I came, I saw, WOW’?  You can choose from a classic T that will fit blokes or a fitted T for ladies.

Isn’t it great when we can give other folk, even complete strangers, a compliment?

And what about it’s diametric opposite: ‘I came, I saw, meh’?  See more at the Oi! Panda shop

