the next great

One way of whiling away a quick lunch-break, is skimming through articles like this that miss the point.  The Horrors are a bunch of posh kids playing at being their favourite bands.  On record, they are rather good (their second album, Primary Colours, was produced by that guy from Portishead).  What they don’t have is The Common Man styling of Oasis or The Verve (or most famously, for a bunch of middle-class kids whose parents could afford the start-up costs, The Beatles) and so even if they could play well live, a wider audience is never going to connect with them.  So much of music, especially at a time where fans have access to up-to-date, unmoderated comments made by other fans online, is about the back-story.

I’ve been listening to the new album, Skying, as I’ve been working in the studio this morning creating a new lino-cut image and while I’ll admit that I like the new album,  I don’t love it in the way that I still enjoy listening to Primary Colours.  As I was listening, I was wondering why the album hadn’t been released earlier in the year so that it could be promoted at as many festivals as possible.  By the end of the second listen to the album, I think I had the answer: as with many musicians, they’ve slowed-down in their advancing years when what they needed to do was make an ‘anti-album’: a couple of EPs of blistering high-energy tempos that could be rehearsed until they could be performed live with blistering frenzy, before leaving the stage promptly and causing a riot from fans clamouring for more… a bit like early incarnations of The Jesus & Mary Chain.

